Header graphic for print
LimeGreenIP News

Protecting trade secrets in the EU and US – LimeGreen Live Webinar

Join us on 09 October for the fifth in our LimeGreen Live webinar series. In this webinar we will look at how the US and EU member states are handling trade secret protection: what the differences are, where you might face challenges and how best to proceed in securing adequate protection and enforcing your rights throughout the US and the EU.

Please contact Tom Goddard for registration or further information.

Date: 9 October 2018

Time: 09.00 PDT / 12.00 EDT / 17.00 BST /18.00 CEST


Background: The recent EU Trade Secrets Directive impacts on the way that businesses protect valuable proprietary information. The new rules being implemented in each EU country aim to create a minimum level of trade secrets protection across the EU. Certain countries will still offer stronger protection than others and challenges remain in implementing the Directive in each jurisdiction.

The US Defend Trade Secrets Act was introduced in 2016 with the aim of improving the rights of claimants to sue for trade secret infringement in federal court. Since its introduction, there have been several high profile examples of the DTSA enabling claimants to defend sensitive information and prevent its misuse.


LimeGreen Live – Our LimeGreen Live series of webinars provide further insight into some of the topics covered in our Global Intellectual Property Outlook 2018. Please register your interest in further LimeGreen Live webinars here.