Header graphic for print
LimeGreenIP News

Webinar: Implementing the EU Trade Marks Directive

Join us on 25 January 2019 for our first IP Outlook webinar of 2019 – focusing on the implementation of the EU Trade Marks Directive and its impact across various Member States. Our European team will provide practical advice on how brand owners should respond to the changes in each jurisdiction.

Background
On 14 January 2019, EU Member States will be required to implement the Directive into national law. The Directive aims to harmonise the conditions for obtaining and continuing to hold a registered trade mark so that they are, in the main, identical across Member States.

Our focus
In our webinar we will explore how some of the EU Member States are handling the implementation of the Directive: what the most substantive changes are in each Member State, where brand owners might face challenges and what new opportunities exist for businesses protecting and enforcing their brands across the EU. This will also address how to best deal with the new procedural rules for cancellation proceedings before Trade Mark Offices that will be set in various member states.

You will hear updates from the following jurisdictions:

  • Benelux
  • France
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • Poland
  • Spain

If you are interested in joining the webinar, please email joshua.prietzel@hoganlovells.com

Session One: 10am GMT / 11am CET

Session Two: 3pm GMT / 4pm CET / 10am ET

With the UK expected to leave the EU on 29 March 2019, our London IP team will present on the UK developments in a separate webinar. More information to follow in the coming months.